About food safety regulation in Australia

Australia has high standards of food safety. Its food safety regulation system is designed to protect consumers and promote good food safety practices.

A collection of agencies work together to ensure that food consumed in Australia is safe.

Food regulation is aimed at achieving predetermined food safety outcomes, regulated at a national, state and local level.

The Australia and New Zealand Food Regulation System consists of two parts:

1. Policy decision making
2. Development of food standards.

Part 1: Policy decision making

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG)'s role is to initiate, develop and monitor the implementation of policy reforms that are of national significance and which require cooperative action by Australian governments (for example, health, education, climate change and food safety).

The policy guidelines for delivering food safety outcomes are set by the Australia New Zealand Food Regulation Ministerial Council (ANZFRMC), under COAG.

The Food Regulation Standing Committee (FRSC) also contributes to this process, providing advice to ANZFRMC on policy development and food standards and the best ways to involve stakeholders in policy development.

Part 2: Development of standards

The policy guidelines developed by ANZFRMC are then used by Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) to develop food standards that apply nationally and are mandatory for each State and Territory to adopt.

These national standards are then implemented by each jurisdiction through various food regulatory bodies.